Connect with us

BOV Premier League

Guillaumier, Flask land top gongs at Malta FA Awards

MFA Footballers of the Year Jade Flask (left) and Matthew Guillaumier. Photo: Joe Borg

Ħamrun Spartans midfielder Matthew Guillaumier and Jade Flask, of Swieqi United, were named as MFA Footballers of the Year during the local governing body of football’s gala awards held at the Dolmen Hotel on Friday night.

For Guillaumier and Flask, this was their second major individual success this season after they were also voted as the best players in the men’s and women’s competitions, respectively, during the Malta Football Players Awards earlier this week.

Guillaumier secured a convincing victory in the men’s category as the Malta midfielder collected 106 votes. He finished clearly ahead of Birkirkara midfielder Yannik Yankam who collected 38 votes while Guillaumier’s team-mate at Ħamrun Spartans, Steve Borg, placed third with 28 votes.

For Guillaumier, this was his second success as the Player of the Year award in his career after he had landed the prestigious award in season 2020-21.

The 25-year-old midfielder enjoyed an impressive season with Ħamrun Spartans as he inspired the team to a record run in the UEFA Conference League where the team managed to become the first Maltese club to reach the Play-Off round.

Then, Guillaumier was equally impressive with the Spartans in the Premier League as he helped the team to a second title success by a record 19-point margin over nearest rivals Birkirkara.

On the other hand, Flask, who is lifting the prestigious accolade for the first time in her career, received 62 votes to finish a clear winner ahead Stephania Farrugia, of Birkirkara, who had 21 points, while Swieqi’s Dorianne Theuma, last year’s winner, finished third on 16.

Prolific season

Flask enjoyed a strong campaign with Swieqi United as she managed to score 19 goals to finish as the league’s top scorer.

For Flask, it was an impressive feat given the fact that the 26-year-old has started to play as a forward just this season after she had established herself as a left-back.

However, Flask impressed in her new role and managed to rubberstamp her place in the team’s forward line even though the club had two overseas foreigners on their books and brought a third in the January transfer window.

Her prolific form has also been recognised by national coach Manuela Tesse and the Swieqi striker also managed to score against Luxembourg in a friendly earlier this year.

Ħamrun Spartans claimed the second award of the night when Branko Nisevic was voted as the Coach of the Year.
The Serbian coach totalled 109 points to finish ahead of Birkirkara coach Giovanni Tedesco who received 86 points, while Oliver Spiteri, of Balzan, amassed 33 votes to place third.

For Nisevic, it was a merited success after he led the team not only to an unprecedented run in Europe but also to a ninth title success where they suffered just one defeat.

Valletta striker Andrea Zammit was named the Young Player of the Year.

The young forward was a clear-cut winner after picking up 96 points to finish ahead of Floriana’s Mattija Veselji (56 votes) and Jake Vassallo, of Mosta, who picked up 36 votes.

Balzan forward Angel Torres, of Balzan, landed the Best Foreign Player of the Year with 61 votes, just six ahead of Gżira United forward Jefferson while Roko Prsa, of Ħamrun Spartans, placed third on 52


Footballer of the Year: Matthew Guillaumier (Ħamrun Spartans).

Female Player of the Year: Jade Flask (Swieqi United).

Coach of the Year: Branko Nisevic (Ħamrun Spartans).

Young Player of the Year: Andrea Zammit (Valletta).

Foreign Player of the Year: Angel Torres (Balzan).

Challenge League Best Player: Lydon Micallef (Sliema Wanderers).

Amateur League Best Player: Christian Ebisindor (Mġarr United).

Youths Best Player: Nathan Agius (Mosta).

Women’s Youths Best Player: Sara Saliba (Birkirkara).

Fair Play Award: St Andrews FC.

Hall of Fame inductees: Tessie Agius, Andrew Cohen.

President’s Award: Joseph Micallef; Paul Spiteri

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in BOV Premier League