Connect with us


Watch: Keith Camilleri crowned 2020 ICC National Hillclimb champion

Keith Camilleri was crowned as the winner of the 2020 Enemed National Hillclimb Championship after topping the fifth and final round of the championship last weekend in Gnejna.

Camilleri won four rounds of this championship, losing only the fourth round at Miżieb to Darren Camilleri.

This championship attracted 89 different drivers, including four new drivers in the last round.

“With events running smooth again after the stormy five years during which the club was faced with huge challenges to apply for permits, due to increase in safety, the current Island Car Club Committee, its drivers and members are looking forward for an even bigger and more exciting 2021 National Hillclimb Championship,” the Island Car Club said in a statement.

“During these last five years Island Car Club saw a drop in participants but it seems that with good work and cooperation with all involved the sport is back on track. All those considering taking part next year, now is the time to get in touch with Island Car Club.”

Dylan Galea, on Opel, was the fastest Guest of the day while Peter Hansen, in his Peugeot, was the fastest driver over 60.

Keith Camilleri on his way to victory last weekend.

Charles Cutajar (Ford Escort) clocked the fastest time in a Rear Wheel Drive car.

Dorian Galea (BMW) and Andrea Scicluna (Opel) topped the Drifting and Autocross classes.

Aaron Refalo on Hyundai, Chris Tabone on Honda and Robert Muscat on Subaru placed first in the classes for street legal cars and Refalo was also the fastest driver U-25 years.

Ivan Paul Deidun driving his car at the ICC Championship.

Stephen Micallef, on Fiat, and Joseph Agius, on Mini, won two classes in Group 1, Chris Aquilina on Subaru, Etienne Grech, on Citroen, and Edmond Azzopardi, on Mini, finished first in three classes in Group 2.

Didier Bugeja (Peugeot) and David Galea (Subaru) topped class 2 and 3 of Group 3 and finished the day as the Fastest Front Wheel Drive car and the Fastest Four-Wheel Drive car respectively.

James Dunford, on Norma, won Group 5 class 5, while Jean Vella on a Jedi and Kenneth Camilleri on a Dallara took the honours in Class 1 and 2 of Group 6.

Jonathan Grech, on Datsun, won the Classic Standard Class and Clifford Debono (Triumph) won the Classic Modified Class.

Matthew Zammit in action last Sunday.

Matthew Zammit on his AMZ284 finished the day as the third fastest driver, followed by Ivan Paul Deidun on his IDR that finished second overall, also winning Class 4 of Group 5.

Incidentally both cars, that of Zammit and that of Deidun, were built up by themselves.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Motorsport