Connect with us


Ħamrun Spartans declared as Malta champions as MFA halt Premier League

The Malta FA Executive Committee has decided to bring to an end to the 2020-21 Premier League season due to the current COVID-19 restrictions and declare Ħamrun Spartans as the new Malta champions.

The local governing body top brass met on Friday to discuss the current situation in the light of the authorities decision of not lifting its restrictions over organised sport.

The future of the Premier League and the Challenge were on top of the agenda of Friday’s meeting with the EXCO members facing a decision on whether to bring to an end the 2020-21 season in the top two tiers of Maltese football.

During the meeting, the MFA EXCO has decided that given that Premier League teams have not been given permission to return to training this week, which would have enabled the championship to resume in May, it was only logical to bring to an end this year’s championship.

With the Malta FA having introduced new regulations in its statute over competitions being halted due to Force Majeure, the EXCO members had the aid of these rules to take its decision on the fate of this year’s Premier League title.

In fact, since more than 75 per cent of the fixtures in the Premier League was played, the MFA could award the title, European places and relegation according to the latest league standings.

With Ħamrun Spartans currently leading the standings, five points clear, they were declared as Malta champions for the eighth time in their history.

Hibernians, Gżira United and Birkirkara will compete in the UEFA Conference League.

On the other hand Senglea Athletic, Tarxien Rainbows, Lija Athletic and Żejtun Corinthians, were relegated.  

1 Comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Football