Connect with us


Belgian Vandoorne wins Formula E title as Mercedes bow out on top

Stoffel Vandoorne clinched the Formula E world driver’s title on Sunday after finishing second in the final race of the season in Seoul.

His Mercedes team won the constructors’ title for the second year in a row to give them the perfect send off as this was their last ever Formula E race after selling their series team to Formula 1 rivals McLaren.

Swiss Edoardo Mortara in a Venturi won the race to take third in the championship behind Belgian Vandoorne and New Zealander Mitch Evans in a Jaguar.

“It’s the best feeling ever,” said Vandoorne, a 30-year-old former Formula 1 driver. 

“It’s been a great season and the team has done a great job. Mitch and Edoardo have been pushing me all season but it’s all been about consistency. They have more wins than me but I have more podiums.”

Although he has only won once this season, in Monaco, Vandoorne scored points in 15 of the 16 races and finished on the podium seven times. 

He succeeds his teammate, Dutchman Nyck de Vries as champion.

The “Gen2” single-seaters will make way next year, the ninth season of the championship to “Gen3” cars that will be  lighter, more powerful and run longer.

While Mercedes exit the e-stage Maserati have announced it will join Formula E next season. 

Raced on urban circuits, Formula E is the counterpart of F1 but with fully electric cars, while Formula 1 cars use hybrid combustion engines. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Motorsport