Connect with us


UEFA to introduce women’s Nations League

UEFA will introduce the Nations League system in the women’s game as from next season.

The European football governing body announced that the new competition will be launched in next year’s autumn and will lead up to the 2025 UEFA Women’s European Championships.

The same format will be also applied for the following European qualifiers for the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The women’s Nations League will be formed by three tiers – League A, B and C – based on ranking, with promotion and relegation between all tiers.

Ranked 88th, the Malta women’s team will start its women’s Nations League campaign in League C.

The winners of the League C groups will be promoted to League B at the end of the campaign.

Moreover, the three best-ranked third-placed teams in League B will play matches against the three best-ranked League C runners-up, with the winners playing in League B and the defeated teams in League C.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Football