Connect with us


Malta coach Marcolini to hold camp with players next week ahead of Euro qualifiers

Malta national teams head coach Michele Marcolini has named a 36-man squad for a short mini-camp next week.

The training camp will be held between Monday, February 27, and Thursday, March 2 at the Ta’ Qali Training Grounds.

This will be the first opportunity for Marcolini, who replaced Devis Mangia in the job, to work with the players ahead of the start of the European Championship qualifiers next month.

In fact, Malta open their qualifying campaign with an away trip to North Macedonia on March 23 before hosting European champions Italy on March 26 at the National Stadium.

Taking a glance at the list of players selected by Marcolini, one can but not notice the presence of some young blood, such as Valletta goalkeeper Cain Formosa, Mosta defender Jake Vassallo, as well as forwards Mattia Veselji, of Floriana, and Andrea Zammit, of Valletta FC.

A notable return to the national team fold was that of Kyrian Nwoko, currently on the books of Santa Lucia on loan from Floriana FC, who had retired from national team duty a couple of years back.

The Malta FA said in its statement that all Maltese players who ply their trade abroad will not be able to join this camp as this session is being held outside the designated international window.


Goalkeepers: Henry Bonello (Ħamrun Spartans FC), Cain Formosa (Valletta FC), Rashed Al Tumi (Sliema Wanderers FC), Matthew Grech (Sirens FC).             

Defenders: Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians FC), Luke Tabone (Gżira FC), Steve Borg (Ħamrun Spartans FC), Karl Micallef (Gudja United FC), Nikola Braunovic (Balzan FC), Jake Vassallo (Mosta FC), Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara FC), Triston Caruana (Valletta FC).

Midfielders: Juan Corbalan (Hamrun Spartans FC), Ryan Camenzuli (Hamrun Spartans FC), Adam Magri Overend (Floriana FC), Steven Pisani (Gzira United FC), Matthew Guillaumier (Hamrun Spartans FC), Cain Attard (Birkirkara FC), Nikolai Muscat (Gzira FC), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians FC), Brandon Diego Paiber (Valletta FC), Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara FC), Matias Nicolas Garcia (Floriana FC), Dunstan Vella (Hibernians FC), Jake Grech (Hibernians FC), Joseph Essien Mbong (Hamrun Spartans FC), Aleandro Garzia (Floriana FC).

Forwards: Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians FC), Shaun Dimech (Valletta FC), Mattia Veselji (Floriana FC), Andrea Zammit (Valletta FC), Kyrian Nwoko (Santa Lucia FC), Paul Mbong (Birkirkara FC), Alexander Satariano (Balzan FC), Luke Montebello (Ħamrun Spartans), Jan Busuttil (Floriana FC).   

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Football