Connect with us


Borg, Guillaumier, Yankam nominated for MFA Player of the Year award

Ħamrun Spartans duo Steve Borg and Matthew Guillaumier, together with Birkirkara midfielder Yannick Yankam have been shortlisted for the MFA Player of the Year award, the local governing body of football announced on Monday.

The MFA will be hosting this year’s gala event on May 5 where the best performers in various divisions from the national championships will be announced at the Dolmen Hotel, Qawra.

Borg and Guillaumier are coming from an extraordinary season where they have played a key role in helping Ħamrun Spartans secure their ninth Premier League championship, after finishing with a commanding 19-point margin over Birkirkara.

On the other hand, Yankam has equally enjoyed an impressive campaign with Birkirkara as the young midfielder has inspired his team to not only second place in the Premier League but more importantly return to European football.

In the women’s category, Stephania Farrugia has been nominated after helping Birkirkara to their 11th title crown and sixth in a row.

As expected Ħamrun Spartans have the highest number of nominations in this year’s award.

In fact, Branko Nisevic is in line for the accolade of coach of the year alongside Oliver Spiteri, of Balzan, and Giovanni Tedesco, of Birkirkara.

While Spartans midfielder Roko Prsa has been nominated for the Best Foreign Player Award alongside Gżira United striker Jefferson, the Premier League’s leading scorer, and Angel Torres, of Balzan.

The nominations for the Challenge League Best Player went for Robinson Blandon, of Naxxar Lions, Lydon Micallef (Sliema Wanderers), and Neil Pace Cocks, of Naxxar Lions.

On the other hand, Timothy Thomas (Senglea Athletic), Christian Sant Ebisnodor (Mġarr United) and Msida St Joseph’s Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza are in line for the Amateur League Best Player award.


MFA Football of the Year (men): Steve Borg (Ħamrun Spartans), Matthew Guillaumier (Ħamrun Spartans), Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara).

MFA Football of the Year (women): Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara); Jade Flask (Swieqi United), Dorianne Theuma (Swieqi United).

Young Player of the Year: Jake Vassallo (Mosta), Mattia Veselji (Floriana), Andrea Zammit (Valletta).

Foreign player of the Year: Jefferson (Gżira United), Roko Prsa (Ħamrun Spartans), Angel Torres (Balzan).

Challenge League Best Player: Robinson Blandon (Naxxar Lions), Lydon Micallef (Sliema Wanderers), Neil Pace Cocks (Naxxar Lions).

 Amateur League Best Player: Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza (Msida St Joseph), Christian Sant Ebisnodor (Mġarr United), Timothy Thomas (Senglea Athletic).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Football