Connect with us


Teuma, Pepe out of Malta’s away friendly against Luxembourg

Teddy Teuma (right) is out of Malta's Euro 2024 qualifier against Luxembourg. Photo: Mark Zammit Cordina

Malta national teams’ head coach Michele Marcolini is forced to be without influential midfielder Teddy Teuma from Friday’s international friendly against Luxembourg after picking up an injury for his club Royal Saint-Gilloise last weekend.

Marcolini named a 26-man squad for tomorrow’s international friendly at the Luxembourg Stadium that will kick off at 8.15pm.

The match will be the team’s final test ahead of this month’s delicate Euro 2024 doubleheader against England at the National Stadium on June 16 and the away trip to Ukraine, which will be played in a neutral venue in Slovakia, due to the Ukrainians involvement in the war with Russia.

Teuma suffered a foot injury during Sunday’s 3-1 defeat to Club Brugge and was replaced after 62 minutes of play.

The influential midfielder has yet to join Marcolini’s squad and his condition is being assessed by his club doctors who are in constant contact with the medical team at the Malta Football Association.

It is yet unknown the severity of Teuma’s injury but Marcolini will be keeping his fingers crossed that he recovers in time for next week’s clash against Gareth Southgate’s England at the National Stadium.

Another key player missing for Marcolini is Italian-born defender Enrico Pepe who is still recovering from an injury suffered against Birkirkara at the end of the 2022-23 season. Gudja United’s Karl Micallef has been recalled to fill his void in the squad.

Henry Bonello (Ħamrun Spartans), Cain Formosa (Valletta), Matthew Grech (Sirens).

Defenders: Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians), Jean Borg (Sliema Wanderers), Steve Borg (Ħamrun Spartans), Karl Micallef (Gudja United), Zach Muscat (Farense), Kurt Shaw (Hibernians).

Midfielders: Cain Attard (Birkirkara), Juan Corbalan (Ħamrun Spartans), Ryan Camenzuli (Ħamrun Spartans), Jake Grech (Hibernians), Matthew Guillaumier (Ħamrun Spartans), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians), Adam Magri Overend (Floriana), Joseph Mbong (Ħamrun Spartans), Nikolai Muscat (Gżira United), Steven Pisani (Gzira United), Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara).

Forwards: Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians), Jodi Jones (Notts County), Shaun Dimech (Valletta), Kyrian Nwoko (Floriana), Alexander Satariano (Balzan), Luke Montebello (Ħamrun Spartans).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Football