Connect with us


Marsaxlokk stun Birżebbuġa to lift Division One waterpolo Knock Out

Marsaxlokk players lift the KO Trophy. Photo: Dominic Borg



(3-3, 2-4, 3-4, 2-4)

Marsaxlokk shocked favourites Birżebbuga to clinch the First Division KO title.

As usual, their Montenegrin duo Nikola Moskov and Sasa Misic led the scoring statistics for the Southerners.

By contrast, Birżebbuġa were never in it, with Balazs Erdelyi, their top scorer being in the shadows.

Pierre Borg’s side also lacked effective play on the flanks.

Ironically, Birżebbuġa started solidly taking a 3-0 lead courtesy of Jacob Sciberras, Darko Brguljan and Peter Borg.

However, they were found wanting in the covering phase as Marsaxlokk had better team play and sharper execution with Moskov, the author of eight goals as both sides shared six goals in the opening session.

Birżebbuġa continued in their downward path in the next quarter when they conceded four more goals as Moskov and Misic each went on three goals each for a 7-5 mid-point lead.

In the third session, Birżebbuġa cut the leeway to just one goal when Sciberras made it 11-10 before Marsaxlokk managed to widen the lead and seal the victory.

BIRŻEBBUĠA: M. Sladden, P. Borg 1, N. Cassar, B. Grech, D. Brguljan 3, M. Manara, S. Bezzina, D. Cutajar, B. Erdelyi 3, K. Tanti, G. Mannino, M. Curmi, C. D. Borg, J. Sciberras 3, D. Farrugia.

MARSAXLOKK: M. Farrugia, M. Lanzon, B. Zammit, M. Farrugia 1, N. Moskov 8, J. Valletta 1, M. Zammit, M. Aquilina, R. Galea, S. Misic 4, J. Borg Tabone, L. Mallia, S. Mifsud, A. Cook 1, S. Mifsud,

Referees: Peter Balzan, Arnaldo Petronilli.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Waterpolo