Connect with us


Dunstan Vella, Jan Busuttil and Ferdinando Apap back in Malta squad for Italy, Ukraine qualifiers

Enrico Pepe (right) has been included in Malta's squad ahead of this month's qualifiers against Italy and Ukraine. Photo: Domenic Aquilina

Malta national teams head coach Michele Marcolini has recalled some key players ahead of this month’s Euro 2024 qualifying double-header against Italy and Ukraine.

The national team will face Italy at the Stadio San Nicola of Bari on Saturday, October 14 before hosting Ukraine at the National Stadium on October 17.

Marcolini has named an enlarged squad of 36 players for these matches, which include a blend of familiar and experienced players as well as promising young players.

Floriana players Jan Busuttil and Dunstan Vella are back in Marcolini’s squad as well as defender Luke Tabone, who plies his trade with Wales club Haverfordwest Count AFC.

Hibernians central defender Ferdinando Apap, who missed the September internationals, is back in the fold after recovering from injury and is back in the Paolites squad.

Birkirkara defender Enrico Pepe, who has been out of Birkirkara’s squad lately due to injury, was also included in the squad.

The squad will be narrowed down to 26 players at a later stage.

Goalkeepers: Henry Bonello (Hamrun Spartans), Rashed Al Tumi (Sliema Wanderers), Matthew Grech (Zabbar St Patrick), Jake Galea (Valletta).

Jake Vassallo (Mosta), Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians), Luke Tabone (Haverfordwest Count AFC), Steve Borg (Ħamrun Spartans), Karl Micallef (Gudja United), Zach Muscat (Farense), Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara), Kurt Shaw (Hibernians), Jean Borg (Sliema Wanderers).

Juan Corbalan (Ħamrun Spartans), Cain Attard (CF Os Belenenses), Ryan Camenzuli (Hamrun Spartans), Adam Magri Overend (Floriana), Steven Pisani (Santa Lucia), Matthew Guillaumier (FKS Stal Mielec Spolka Akcyjna), Nikolai Muscat (Marsaxlokk), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians), Brandon Paiber (Valletta), Shaun Dimech (Valletta), Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara), Teddy Teuma (Stade de Reims), Jake Grech (Balzan), Joseph Mbong (Hamrun Spartans), Kurt Zammit (Birkirkara), Jan Busuttil (Floriana) Dunstan Vella (Floriana).

Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians), Jodi Jones (Notts County), Kyrian Nwoko (Floriana), Paul Mbong (Birkirkara), Luke Montebello (Hamrun Spartans), Alexander Satariano (Birkirkara). 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Football