Connect with us

More Sports

John Sciberras elected new MTTA president

New MTTA president John Sciberras.

Noel Schembri named honorary member

Former Malta Tennis Federation secretary John Sciberras was elected as the new president of the Malta Table Tennis Association during an Extraordinary General Meeting held at the MOC Headquarters in Tal-Qroqq earlier this week.

Sciberras, an experienced sports administrator in local circles, was uncontested and will be joined by
Kevin Cutajar as vice president, Paul Cordina as general secretary, Edmar Diacono as treasurer and Jesmond Xuereb was elected as competitions officer.

Towards the end of the EGM, the newly-elected president thanked all members for their trust and augured that all stakeholders within the local table tennis community would work hand in hand for the good of the sport.

Sciberras also went on to propose long-serving Noel Schembri as an honorary member of the Malta Table Tennis Association after having served for more than 40 years and is still active.

The new president’s proposal was voted for unanimously as was his motion to have Schembri co-opted to serve as part of the MTTA Executive Council.

The EGM was led by MOC Secretary General Kevin Azzopardi who was accompanied by MOC Director of Sport Charlene Attard and MOC Youth Development Director Johanna Grech.

The voting process was scrutinized by the Electoral Commission composed of Edmund Mifsud as Chair as well as Nicholas Sciberras and Jurgen Pisani as Members.

Amendments to the MTTA Statute in line with mandatory requirements in relation to good governance as established by sport authorities were also approved unanimously.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in More Sports