Connect with us

FA Trophy

Floriana make four changes, Sliema name unchanged squad for FA Trophy showdown

Floriana’s coach Mauro German Camoranesi made four changes to his starting line-up as the Greens will contend the FA Trophy with old foes Sliema Wanders, at 4pm.

The Greens are missing captain Oualid El-Hasni and midfielder Matias Garcia, both issued a red card in last Tuesday’s semi-final against Gżira united.

On the other hand, Camoranesi welcomes back Lorenzo De Grazia who returns after serving a one-game ban.

The Italian returns immediately to the starting formation together with Guy Yameogo and Jake Grech, who both started on the bench against the Maroons.

Yameogo, on his side, had come on early in the first half to replace injured Alexandros Kouro.

Sliema, on their part, have named un changed squad from last Wednesday’s narrow win over Birkirkara.

Joseph Minala, who scored the winning penalty against the Stripes, starts with defender Murilo Henrique to captain the side.

Floriana and Sliema Wanderers are the two clubs that can boast the highest of honours in Maltese football.

Both teams are sharing top spot in the rankings for teams with the highest number of Premier League titles, with 26, and they are also level in first place when it comes to FA Trophy victories with 21.

Thus the winner of today’s showdown at the National Stadium will take the prestigious status of the most successful club in Maltese football.

Floriana won both league games 2-0, with Kemar Reid and Owen Spiteri scoring the goals in the first-round tie while January signing Willis Furtado grabbing a brace in the second encounter.

This afternoon’s match will be officiated by referee Fyodor Zammit.

N. Andrijanic; J. Grech, K. Reid, M. Sousa, D. Vella, O. Spiteri, C. Lonardelli, L. De Grazia, M. Valadzko, G. Yameogo, W. Furtado.

R. Al Tumi; J. Borg, J. Minala, V. Plut, S. Gomes, M. Beerman, J. Arthur, G. Alcino, D. Kouao, M. Henrique, G. Acheampong.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in FA Trophy