Connect with us


Fired-up San Giljan clinch the President’s Cup

San Giljan players celebrate with the President's Cup trophy. Photo: Domenic Aquilina

Valletta win GhGS Cup



(1-2, 2-3, 3-1, 0-4)


N. Grixti, J. Gabaretta 1, L. Galea, Z. Mizzi 1, B. Cachia, J. Cutajar 1, M. Mifsud, J, Brownrigg, D. Kholod 2, A. Prlainovic, D. Zammit 1, A. Bugeja, E. Schembri, S. Engerer.


J. Tanti, N. Bugelli, A. Galea, B. Plumpton 2, M. Jokovic 1, M. Zammit 2, J. Bonavia 1, A. Younger 3, J. Abela, N. Zammit, D. Zammit 1, R. Caruana, G. Borg, G. Bonavia, N. Bonavia.

Referees Luca Bianco, Massimo Angileri,

A fired-up San Giljan claimed the President’s Cup at the expense of Sliema on Wednesday.

It was a typical tight duel as San Giljan won the contest 10-6 to clinch their fourth honour of the season.

The Saints displayed better nerves and turned the tables on their opponents in the last session. The brimstone was supplied by their influential new recruit Aaron Younger and Matthew Zammit who scored a hat-trick and brace respectively.

Marking was tight with Younger and Andrija Prlainovic shadowing each other but San Giljan looked sharper and more clinical in front of goal. 

The Saints’ edge at times was clear, but the Blues fought back to edge in front after Matthew Zammit and his teammates started in decisive fashion to take a 2-0 lead.

A stunning backhand by Zammit left the Sliema custodian Nicky Grixti motionless before Younger made it 2-0. Dmitrii Kholod, Jayden Cutajar, and Jerome Gabaretta tilted the balance in favour of Sliema.

San Giljan, though regained the driving seat to twice pull away on a two-goal lead. But after that, San Giljan went into pause mode as Zach Mizzi and Dino Zammit generated steam to level matters on 6-6. 

The drama reached a climax in the last session with Sliema holding out confidently before Mizzi erroneously chipped the ball over his onrushing goalkeeper Nicky Grixti.

At this point, Younger succeeded in freeing himself from his direct opponent to catch Grixti unawares. Ben Plumpton and Zammit increased the score. However, their success had long been hammered home.

Valletta players celebrate with GhGS Cup. Photo: Domenic Aquilina

GhGS Cup



(1-4, 4-1, 1-2, 3-1)


B. Busuttil, J. Spiteri Staines, D. Rizzo 3, J. Cassar, S. Busuttil 1, A. Vlahovic 1, D. Paolella, I. Nagaev 2, S. Micallef, J. Chircop, K. Borg 2, K. Cremona, A. Theuma, M, de Marco.


J. Micallef, JC Cutajar, P. Privitera, R. Greco, S. Ferenc 1, K. Navarro, D. Tully, D. Pace Lupi, G. Sammut 1, B. Batori 3, M. Carani 3, A. Muscat, F. Scardino, J. Pace Mizzi.

Referees Alessandro Chimenti, Peter Balzan

In the opening match, Valletta clinched the Sports Journalists Cup when they edged Marsaskala 9-8 in a tight clash. Marsaskala went off the blocks to take a 4-1 lead.

Valletta leveled matters on 5-5 before the change of ends. Marsaskala won the third session by one-goal margin, only for Valletta to turn the tables on their opponents in the last session.

The match had three scoring protagonists, Mark Carani and Bence Batori with three goals each for Marsascala and Daniel Rizzo for Valletta.

Women’s Super Cup



(4-2, 3-1, 2-3, 4-1)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Waterpolo