Connect with us


Europe’s best to compete in Champions League Final Four tournament in Malta

ASA president Karl Izzo.

The Aquatic Sports Association of Malta will be hosting the Champions League Final Four tournament at the National Pool in Tal-Qroqq next week.

This is the first time the prestigious club competition is being staged in Malta and will be held between June 5 and 7.

The ASA won the right to host this tournament after submitting a successful bid to European Aquatics late last year that is being fully supported by the government, SportMalta and VisitMalta.

The Champions League Final Four tournament will feature the remaining four teams in this season’s elite competition, namely holders Pro Recco, Novi Beograd (Serbia), Hungary’s Ferencvaros and Greek side Olympiakos.

The tournament will get underway on June 5 when the two semi-finals will be played at the National Pool with the winners proceeding to the final, scheduled for June 7.

Minister for Education, Sport and Youth, Dr Clifton Grima told a news conference that the organisation of this tournament is the result of the excellent work carried out by the government with the local sporting associations.

“It is of great satisfaction that our country is being chosen to host international sporting events,” he said.
“That mirrors the high level of infrastructure that our country boasts and our professionalism in organising these events as we are being entrusted with high-level competitions.”

On his part, Clayton Bartolo, the Minister for Tourism, said that sports tourism is becoming a key factor in attracting high-level tourism in Malta.

“The fact that we will be having a waterpolo tournament of the highest level will bring with it a lot of benefits, such as having top-level athletes coming to our shores and inevitably increasing the visibility of the Maltese islands around the world,” Bartolo said.

ASA president Karl Izzo said that the Maltese waterpolo fans will have the opportunity to watch the best players in the sport in Malta.

Pro Recco are the defending champions, having won the tournament in the last three editions. Novi Beograd will have a score to settle as the Serbian side reached the final of the two last tournaments.
On the other hand, Ferencvaros won this tournament in 2019 while Olympiakos won the waterpolo Champions League twice in their history.

“As part of the tournament, a sporting village will be set up at the entrance of the National Pool so that the spectators present will have a better match experience,” Izzo said.
“The village will open at 5pm and the first semi-final will be played at 7pm. The second semi-final will get underway at 9pm.”

The Champions League Final Four tournament will be screened live on various TV networks around the continent and will also have a significant presence on social media.

Tickets for the Champions League Final Four tournament can be bought from the ASA website www.asaofmalta.eu. No tickets will be sold from the gates.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Waterpolo