Connect with us

Horse Racing

Abercrombis and Tack Wee win Premier class races at Marsa Racetrack

French debutante Abercrombis and Tack Wee won the major races which were held on Sunday afternoon at the Marsa Racetrack. These were open for class Premier trotters and formed part of the eighth meeting of the season, made up of ten races all for trotters.

Fourteen trotters lined up in the first class Premier race.

French newcomer Concerto Des Dunes (Paul Galea) was the fastest trotter at first, opening a small lead from Lajos Cella (Cherise Farrugia) and from another French debutante Abercrombis (Michael Ellul).

However with 500m to go, Galea’s trotter started to slow down and was overtaken by Abercrombis which eventually past the finishing post first easily by seven lengths from another newcomer from France, Bonheur De Nay (Noel Baldacchino).

Big Kaiser (Ludvic Ghigo) and Barrio Josselyn (Anton Cassar) ended respectively in third and fourth place.

There was a keen tussle between three trotters in the final straight of the second Premier class race.

It was Tack Wee (Jonathan Farrugia) which sealed its first win in Malta after sustaining the challenge of Vertige De Chenu (Charles Camilleri) and French debutante Citizen Kane (Mario Fenech).

Vasco de Viette (Cliferty Calleja) follwed home in that order. For Young driver, Jonathan Farrugia this was also his first win at the Marsa Racetrack.

During Sunday’s meeting, drivers Rodney Gatt and Anton Cassar were presented with a memento after finishing respectively the best driver and the best driver in the under 25 category last year.

Paul Gafà, owner of Global Rebel, was also presented with a memento after his horse finished the most consistent during last season. These awards were presented by Edwin Borg, MRC chairman.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Friday. The first race should start at 6pm.

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Fazio Josselyn (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.17.2”

Race 2. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Coyote Du Relais (Mario Farrugia) – 1.18.1”

Race 3. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Derby Chevaleraie (Charles Camilleri) – 1.15.7”

Race 4. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Kasper Trot (Rodney Gatt) – 1.17.8”

Race 5. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Cyborg De La Basle (Joseph Scerri) – 1.17.2”

Race 6. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Cyrus Du Lorault (Redent Magro) – 1.16.1”

Race 7. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Abercrombis (Michael Ellul) – 1.15”

Race 8. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Accent (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.6”

Race 9. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Tack Wee (Jonathan Farrugia) – 1.14.9”

Race 10. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Alixan (Cliferty Calleja) – 1.16.4”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing