Connect with us

Euro 2020

Xhaka and Shaqiri head up Swiss Euro squad, no place for Zeqiri

Arsenal’s Granit Xhaka and Liverpool’s Xherdan Shaqiri headed up the final 26-man Euro 2020 squad announced by Switzerland coach Vladimir Petkovic on Monday.

But there was no place in the squad for Brighton striker Andi Zeqiri, the goalkeeper Gregor Kobel who joined Dortmund on Monday and Nice midfielder Dan Ndoye, the trio that had been included in an extended first squad.

Switzerland kick off their tournament against Wales in Baku on June 12 before taking on Italy four days later and rounding off pool play against Turkey on June 20.

The Euro, postponed a year because of the Covid-19 pandemic, runs from June 11 to July 11.

Swiss Euro 2020 squad

Goalkeepers (3): Yvon Mvogo (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Jonas Omlin (Montpellier/FRA), Yann Sommer (Borussia Moenchengladbach/GER)

Defenders (10): Manuel Akanji (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Loris Benito (Bordeaux/FRA), Eray Coemert (Basel), Nico Elvedi (Borussia Moenchengladbach/GER), Jordan Lotomba (Nice/FRA), Kevin Mbabu (Wolfsburg/GER), Becir Omeragic (FC Zurich), Ricardo Rodriguez (Torino/ITA), Fabian Schaer (Newcastle/ENG), Silvan Widmer (Basel)

Midfielders (9): Christian Fassnacht (Young Boys Berne), Edimilson Fernandes (Mainz 05/GER), Remo Freuler (Atalanta/ITA), Mario Gavranovic (Dinamo Zagreb/CRO), Admir Mehmedi (Wolfsburg/GER), Granit Xhaka (Arsenal/ENG), Denis Zakaria (Borussia Moenchengladbach/GER), Djibril Sow (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER), Ruben Vargas (Augsburg/GER)

Forwards (4): Breel Embolo (Borussia Moenchengladbach/GER), Xherdan Shaqiri (Liverpool/ENG), Haris Seferovic (Benfica/POR), Steven Zuber (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Euro 2020