Connect with us


Malta coach Mangia names 33-man squad for training camp

MFA apply for Maltese passport for Argentine midfielder Matias Garcia

National Teams Head Coach Devis Mangia announced a 33-man provisional squad for a training camp between May 11 and May 20 in preparation to the June International window. 

The list includes players that are still engaged in the IZIBET FA Trophy or in foreign leagues. These will join the rest of the squad after they end their commitments in the respective competitions.

The most notable name on the list is that of Floriana midfielder Matias Garcia.

The Argentine midfielder has been among the top performers for Floriana this season and has been earmarked by the Malta Football Association as an ideal candidate to be awarded a Maltese passport on merit.

In fact, the Times of Malta can confirm that the local governing body have already filed an application for Garcia to receive his passport and they are hoping that the player will receive the necessary paperwork to feature for the national team for June’s UEFA Nations League qualifiers.

Featuring in League D2 in the UEFA Nations League qualifiers, Malta will start its commitments with an away game against San Marino on June 5. 

Four days later, Malta will play against Estonia on home soil and again against San Marino on June 12  Since Malta is in a group with three teams, it is obliged to play an extra two friendly matches, one of which is scheduled for June 1.

The squad list is as follows:


Henry Bonello (Ħamrun Spartans), Cain Formosa (San Ġwann), Jake Galea (Balzan), Matthew Grech (Pembroke Athleta).


Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians), Jean Borg (Valletta), Steve Borg (Ħamrun Spartans FC), James Brown (St. Johnstone – Scotland), Triston Caruana (Valletta), Karl Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans FC), Zach Muscat (Casa Pia – Portugal), Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara).


Cain Attard (Birkirkara), Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana), Juan Carlos Corbalan (Ħamrun Spartans), Matias Garcia (Floriana), Matthew Guillaumier (A.C. Siena – Italy), Adam Magri Overend (Floriana), Joseph Mbong (Ħamrun Spartans), Nikolai Muscat (Gżira United), Brandon Diego Paiber (Floriana), Steven Pisani (Gżira United), Teddy Teuma (R.U. Saint Gilloise – Belgium), Dunstan Vella (Hibernians), Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara).


Jan Busuttil (Floriana), Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians), Luke Gambin (Ħamrun Spartans), Jake Grech (Hibernians), Paul Mbong (Birkirkara), Luke Montebello (Birkirkara), Alexander Satariano (U.S. Pergolettese 1932 – Italy), Mattia Veselji (Floriana).

Photo: Domenic Aquilina.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Football