Connect with us

Horse Racing

Sixth win for Corky Ramirez in Gold final

Swedish Corky Ramirez driver Paul Galea (left) and owner David Borg being handed the Johnny Walker Cup trophy. Photo: Jonathan Borg

Under the guidance of Paul Galea, Swedish Corky Ramirez won Sunday’s major event at the Marsa Racetrack. This was the Johnnie Walker Cup final for class Gold trotters on a short distance of 2140m.

This final formed part of the 51st meeting of the year consisting of twelve races all for trotters. Sunday’s card included also two class Premier races on a long distance of 3140m and two Condition Race finals for class Bronze and Copper trotters on a short distance.

Twelve trotters took part in the class Gold final. It was Corky Ramirez (Paul Galea) that was the fastest horse after the official start of the final. Immediately this trotter opened a small lead from Cesillac (Charles Camilleri) and Dynamit Life (Kerstin Galea).

With 500m to go, Corky Ramirez was still going strong and managed to seal its sixth win of the year after sustaining the challenge of Cesillac in the final metres. Dynamit Life ended in third place from Diza Du Courtille (Ivan Stivala). The winner clocked an average time of 1.15.6” per kilometer.

At the end of this final, Mr Alfred Braddick, on behalf of the sponsors presented the prestigious trophy to David Borg and Paul Galea, the owner and driver respectively of the winning horse. It should be noted that this was the third year in a row that Galea managed to triumph in the Johnnie Walker Cup final.

In the first Condition Race final for class Copper trotters, organised also thanks to the support of P and M Farrugia Limited, Henzo De Perthuis (Rodney Gatt) led all the way. This French trotter obtained its second win in Malta easily by a length and a half from Friend (Nelson Azzopardi), Floyd Du Guibel (Paul Galea) and Haita De Vieuxcour (Charles Camilleri).

There was a keen tussle between five trotters in the final straight of the second Condition Race final for class Bronze trotters. It was Dollar De L’Iton (Jean Claude Pace) that sealed its first win in Malta from Gina Bergil (J. Gafa’) and Jadore Sugar (Denilson Cortis). Hurricane (Noel Baldacchino) followed him in that order.  

In the first class Premier race, Abricot Du Bugey (Chris Vassallo) registered its fifth win in Malta after dashing on the outside in the final straight. Similar was the second race from the same category with Clovis Montaval driven by Gozitan Marvic Bugeja claiming its second win in Malta.  

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 3140m. 1. Galeo Du Portugal (Kirsten Axisa) – NTR

Race 2. Class Silver. Dist – 3140m. 1. Galys Du Patural (Charles Degiorgio) – 1.19.7”

Race 3. Class Bronze. Dist – 3140m. 1. First Oaks (Brian Camilleri) – 1.18.6”

Race 4. P&M Farrugia Condition Race Final. Class Copper. Dist – 2140m. 1. Henzo De Perthuis (Rodney Gatt) – 1.14.8”

Race 5. Class Bronze. Dist – 3140m. 1. Dieu d’Occagnes (Paul Galea) – 1.17.3”

Race 6. P&M Farrugia Condition Race Final. Class Bronze. Dist – 2140m. 1. Dollar De L’Iton (Jean Claude Pace) – 1.16.8”

Race 7. Class Premier. Dist – 3140m. 1. Abricot Du Bugey (Chris Vassallo) – 1.17.8”

Race 8. Class Gold. Dist – 3140m. 1. Brem Orange (Chris Cassar) – 1.17.5”

Race 9. Class Gold. Dist – 3140m. 1. Daldry De L’Ante (Marco Debono) – 1.17.5”

Race 10. Johnnie Walker Cup Final. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Corky Ramirez (Paul Galea) – 1.15.6”

Race 11. Class Premier. Dist – 3140m. 1. Clovis Montaval (Marvic Bugeja) – 1.16.7”

Race 12. Class Gold. Dist – 3140m. 1. Derby Chevaleraie (Charles Camilleri) – 1.16.4”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing