Connect with us

FA Trophy

Sliema Wanderers beat Mosta in thrilling FA Trophy quarter tie

Geoffrey Acheampong (right) of Sliema Wanderers in action against Mosta in the quarter-final. Photo: Dominic Borg

Paul Zammit’s Blues advance to the semi-finals.

Zachary Brincat 3, Henry Nwoga 118 (M); Lydon Micallef 78, 116 (S).

Sliema Wanderers won 4-3 after penalties.
Penalty sequence: Awad (S) scored, Tenebe (M) missed, Micallef (S) scored, Farrugia (M) scored, Frendo (S) scored, Cachia (M), Alcino (S) scored, Britto (M) scored, Acheampong (S) missed, Agius (M).

D. Akpan; T. Shedrack (111 J. Farrugia), A. Valois (81 N. Obidike), S. Cachia, D. Evans, L. Tenebe, N. Nnaji (46 A. Hovhannisyan), W. Britto, J. Scerri, Z. Brincat, K. Tulimieri (69 N. Agius).

R. Al Tumi; J. Borg, J. Minala, V. Plut (100 J. Engerer), M. Beerman, J. Arthur (46 L. Micallef), G. Alcino, E. Agius (75 N. Frendo), D. Kouao, M. Henrique (46 M. Awad), G. Acheampong.

Yellow cards: Brincat, Tulimieri, Aquilina, Tenebe.

Referee: Fyodor Zammit.

Missed penalty: Joseph Minala (Sliema Wanderers) 90.

Sliema Wanderers remain on course for a 22nd FA Trophy success after eliminating Mosta in a thrilling quarter-final tie.

The Blues beat Mosta in a penalty shoot-out after a close-affair match which produced four goals, including two in the latter stages of extra-time.

Mosta broke the deadlock early in the game when captain Zach Brincat latched onto a through ball, dribbled past Rashed Al Tumi and slotted into empty net.

Sliema Wanderers had to wait until the 77th minute to level terms when Lydon Micallef capitalised on a corner-kick situation.

Joseph Grech’s Mosta thought they had won it when they found the net from a free-kick just to see their goal disallowed for an offside position.

On the other hand, Paul Zammit’s Blues had a golden opportunity to snatch qualification but Joseph Minala saw his stoppage-time penalty stopped by Mosta’s David Akpan as the game headed into extra-time.

In extra-time, the two teams scored in the closing stages of the match with Micallef scoring his second before Mosta equalised through Henry Nwoga.

The winner had to be determined via a penalty shoot-out with

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in FA Trophy