Connect with us


Floriana Young Stars end 23-year-wait to win title

The Floriana Young Stars clan celebrate with the league trophy.

Trust Payments Floriana Young Stars clinched the National League after picking up the point they needed against title challengers GREE Żurrieq Wolves Hotsticks.

The Greens won this title after a 23-year absence and it was surely a deserved one.

The game against GREE Żurrieq Wolves Hotsticks ended in a 2-2 draw with the result remaining uncertain until the end.

The Greens surged ahead in the first quarter although the Hotsticks not only equalised the score in the second quarter but even went on top in the third quarter.

It was here that Trust Payments Floriana Young Stars came out aggressive in the fourth quarter where they salvaged a point to secure the championship.

Ali Rizan and Clive Williams scored for Floriana while Jonathan Borg netted twice for Żurrieq.

At the end of the match, Hockey Association of Malta president Gordon Mifsud presented the cup to Trust Payments Floriana Young Stars captain Karl Chircop amid the joy of the Floriana players, managers and supporters.

In another game from the national championship, Qormi Daikin obtained a massive 12-0 win over White Hart.

Luke Bajada was inspirational for the former champions when he scored six goals with Julian Zahra and Ayrton Falzon netted two goals. Wyatt Magri and Keith Calleja completed the scoring for Qormi Daikin.


Trust Payments Floriana Young Stars 14, GREE Żurrieq Wolves Hotsticks, Qormi Daikin 10, White Hart 2.

1 Comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Hockey