Connect with us

Horse Racing

Watch: Second win of the year for Dreamer Boy in Tazza l-Kbira final

The18th and the 19th meeting of the season were held during the weekend at the Marsa Racetrack.

The most important event organized during these days was the final of the prestigious BOV Tazza l-Kbira Championship final for class Premier trotters on a long distance of 2,640m. This was won by Dreamer Boy and driven by Charles Camilleri.

Twelve trotters lined up for the class Premier final.  

Espoir d’Elphigny (Michael Ellul) was the fastest horse at first, opening a small lead from Velvet Gio (Rodney Gatt) and Crack Money (Paul Galea).

However, around 800m from the end popular Crack Money changed its pace and was disqualified while Dreamer Boy (Charles Camillieri) started to increase its pace from the outside.

In the last metres Espoir d’Elpigny ran out of steam and eventually was overtaken by Dreamer Boy which secured its second win of the year from Velvet Gio and Estournel Mouriez (Jesmar Gafa’). Akela Play (Charles Degiorgio) ended in fourth place from Mac Smily (Carl Caruana).

The winner clocked an impressive average time of 1.13.5” per kilometer.  

At the end of the Tazza l-Kbira final, the Minister responsible for Sport, Clifton Grima, and Mr Kenneth Farrugia on behalf of the sponsors, presented the prestigious trophy to Stephen Ciangura, owner and Charles Camilleri, driver of the winning horse.

It should be noted that last year Ciangura also managed to win this prestigious event with Crack Money while this was Charles Camilleri’s third win in this competition.

Apart from this final, on Friday evening was also organised the MRTL championship final for class Bronze trotters on a short distance of 2140m.

Here, the early leader, Good Buz (Kerstin Galea) started to slow down around 300 metres from the end and eventually it was overtaken by Forrest Beji (Jesmar Gafa’) which obtained its first win of the season by half length from Hanouchka (Cherise Farrugia) and Galeo Du Portugal (Kirsten Axisa). Good Buz had to settle for fourth place.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held next Friday. The first race should start at 7pm.


Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Himitri Star (Jonathan Spiteri) – 1.18.3”

Race 2. Class Copper. Dist – 2640m 1. Flexy Vert (Paul Galea) – 1.18.8”

Race 3. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Attack Photo (Dylan Baldacchino) – 1.19.6”

Race 4. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Fenix Du Loisir (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.14.6”

Race 5. Class Premier. Dist – 2640m. 1. Formi (Joe Schembri) – 1.14.7”

Race 6. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Farmer Du Moulinet (Rodney Gatt) – 1.15.9”

Race 7. MRTL Championship Final. Class Bronze. Dist – 2140m. 1. Forrest Beji (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.16.1”

Race 8. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Equateur Mauzun (Cherise Farrugia) – 1.17.5”


Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Idoline (Charles Camilleri) – 1.17.7”

Race 2. Class  Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Caline De Mai Capo (Rodney Gatt) – 1.16.8”

Race 3. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Mooney (Mark Mifsud) – 1.16.3”

Race 4. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Daraghiu Jeep (Anton Cassar) – 1.17”

Race 5. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Havaroche (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.1”

Race 6. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Donnezac (Redent Magro) – 1.17.1”

Race 7. BOV Tazza l-Kbira Final. Class Premier. Dist – 2640m. 1. Dreamer Boy (Charles Camilleri) – 1.13.5”

Race 8. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Igame Merite (Dylan Baldacchino) – 1.17.3”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing