Connect with us

Horse Racing

Watch: Baron De Majuag triumphs in main final at Marsa RaceTrack

The 27th meeting of the season which was held on Sunday evening at the Marsa Racetrack consisted of seven finals from the Malta Racetrack Limited Summer Championship on a short distance of 2,140m.

The major event, the class Premier final, was won by Baron De Majuag driven by Alessandro Grech.

Twelve trotters lined up for the class Premier final.

Baron De Majuag (Alessandro Grech) was the fastest horse at first, opening a small lead from Antoine Du Bourg (Redent Magro) and Crusoe d’Anama (Charles Camilleri). Grech’s trotter led all the way till the very end and gained its third win of the year by a length and a half from Alinea (Herman McKay) which increased its pace in the final metres.

Crusoe d’Anama and Antoine Du Bourg had to settle for the third and fourth place respectively.

In the class Gold final, favourite Gigant Well (Charles Degiorgio) dashed strongly from the outside during the last 400m and took the lead in the final straight.

Gigant Well sealed its third win of the year easily by a length and a half from Eurythmic Sisu (Kevin Sciberras) and Bicetre (Paul Galea). Atus Picken (Domenic Xerri) ended in fourth place.

After every final the winning owners and drivers were presented with a trophy by the Malta Racing Club and Ekwestri Malta chairman Retired Judge Antonio Mizzi and representatives of the sponsoring company.

The 2021 season will resume during the first week of September.

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. MRTL Championship Final. Class Copper. Dist – 2140m. 1. Fortuna De Coudde (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.3”

Race 2. MRTL Championship Final. Class Bronze B. Dist – 2140m. 1. French Arctic (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.7”

Race 3. MRTL Championship Final. Class Silver B. Dist – 2140m. 1. Derby Chevaleraie (Charles Camilleri) – 1.17.5”

Race 4. MRTL Championship Final. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Gigant Well (Charles Degiorgio) – 1.14.6”

Race 5. MRTL Championship Final. Class Silver A. Dist – 2140m. 1. Cygnus Du Guelier (Paul Galea) – 1.16”

Race 6. MRTL Championship Final. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Baron De Majuag (Alessandro Grech) – 1.13.9”

Race 7. MRTL Championship Final. Class Bronze A. Dist – 2140m. 1. Flash Du Rabutin (Paul Galea) – 1.15.6”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing