Connect with us

Horse Racing

Vangiskan Scott triumphs in Premier class final at Marsa Racetrack

Charles Camilleri leads Vangiskan Scott to victory in the Premier class final. Photo: Jonathan Borg

The 46th and last meeting for this year was held on Sunday afternoon at the Marsa Racetrack. Five of these races were finals from championships for French trotters. The major event was the Prix De Vincennes for class Premier trotters and which was won by Vangiskan Scott driven by Charles Camilleri.

Ten trotters took part in the class Premier final. Brut De La Cote (Charles Camilleri) was the fastest horse at first, opening a small lead from Chaud Devant (Noel Baldacchino) and Casting De Chenu (Ivan Bilocca).

Nine hundred metres from the finishing line Brut De La Cote changed its pace and was disqualified, paving the way to Chaud Devant to go infront.

However, when the front horses turned for their final straight Baldacchino’s trotter was also reeled in by Vangiskan Scott (Charles Camilleri) which registered its first win of the season by a length. Vanderlov (Melvin Farrugia) ended third from Up And Go (Jesmar Gafa’). Baxter Du Klau (Kurt Saliba) finished in fifth place.

The winner clocked an average time of 1.14.6” per kilometer. After the race, Lorraine Cunningham, the Malta Racing Club Media Officer, presented the winning trophy to Charles Camilleri and the owners of the winning horse.

There was a keen tussle between three trotters in the final metres of the Prix d’Enghien final for class Gold trotters. It was the early leader Casino d’Ourville (Rodney Gatt) which gained its first win in Malta by half length from Diza Du Courtille (Ivan Stivala) and Belmann (Clint Vassallo). Chemsak Vedaquais (Jeffrey Said) and Bottarus (Charles Degiorgio) also obtained a good place.

In the Prix De Cabourg final for class Silver trotters Doego Du Coudou (Jesmar Gafa’) led all the way and sealed its second win in Malta after sustaining in the final metres the challenge of Defi Nay (Rodney Gatt). Deal De Cahot (Charles Camilleri), Apache Reyor (Charles Degiorgio) and Diablo De Forgan (Michael Ellul) followed home in that order.  

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Fast Loulou (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.7”

Race 2. Prix De Caen Final. Class Copper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Givre Nonantais (Cherise Farrugia) – 1.15.7”

Race 3. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Fortuna De Coudde (Cliferty Calleja) – 1.16.2”

Race 4. Prix De Cagnes Sur Mer Final. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Drakkar Cleville (Cliferty Calleja) – 1.16.2”

Race 5. Prix De Cabourg Final. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Diego Du Coudou (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.15.4”

Race 6. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Gigaro AM (Anthony Bartolo) – NTR

Race 7. Prix d’Enghien Final. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Casino d’Ourville (Rodney Gatt) – 1.15.4”

Race 8. Prix De Vincennes Final. Class Premier. Dist – 2640m. 1. Vangiskan Scott (Charles Camilleri) – 1.14.6”

Race 9. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Dynamit Life (Kerstin Galea) – 1.16.1”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing