Connect with us

Horse Racing

Kasper Trot wins President’s Cup final

Driven by Rodney Gatt, Swedish Kasper Trot won the 2021 edition of the President’s Cup final reserved for class Premier trotters on a short distance of 2,140m.

This final, organised with the financial support of EquestriMalta Authority, formed part of the 45th meeting of the season made up of nine races all for trotters.

Eleven trotters lined up for the class Premier final.

It was Sir Q.C. (Paul Galea) the fastest horse at first, opening a small lead from I Won’t Dance (Michael Ellul) and Pablo Andover (Daniel Hili).

However, with 500m to go, Gatt started to increase its pace with Kasper Trot on the outside and this trotter took the lead midway through the final straight and gained its fifth win of the season by half-length from Liam Dana (Charles Camilleri).

Gross Weight (Noel Baldacchino) and Duke of Mearas (Ludvic Ghigo) ended respectively in third and fourth place. The winner clocked an average time of 1.14.5” per kilometre.

At the end of this final, Dr George Vella, President of Malta, presented the winning trophy to Jonathan Zammit and Rodney Gatt, the owner and driver respectively of the winning horse. This in the presence of Parliamentary Secretary for Sport Clifton Grima and officials from the Malta Racing Club.

Monday’s card also included two normal class Gold races for French trotters on a long distance of 2640m. In the first race, young driver Leon Tanti managed to take its first win in his career while driving French Brin De Noblesse.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held next Sunday and will include a series of five finals for French trotters in collaboration with the French Association Le Trot.

The first race should start at 1pm.

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Douglas (Rodney Gatt) – 1.16.8”

Race 2. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Felin Du Dropt (Clint Vassallo) – 1.16.6”

Race 3. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Dream Turgot (Kurt Saliba) – 1.14.8”

Race 4. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Eston Nogentais (Redent Magro) – 1.16.2”

Race 5. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Brin De Noblesse (Leon Tanti) – 1.15.8”

Race 6. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Elton Magic (Chris Vassallo) – 1.16.4”

Race 7. EquestriMalta President’s Cup Final. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Kasper Trot (Rodney Gatt) – 1.14.5”

Race 8. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Delta De L’Erdre (Charles Camilleri) – 1.16.1”

Race 9. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Badou (Charlton Gauci) – 1.17.4″

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing