Connect with us

Horse Racing

Seventh win for popular Antoine Du Bourg in class Premier race

Redent Magro leads Antoine Du Bourg (no.10) to victory in the class Premier race. Photo: Chris Sant Fournier

Driven by Redent Magro, Antoine Du Bourg won Sunday’s major event at the Marsa Racetrack. This was a class Premier race held on a long distance of 2640m and which formed part of the 46th meeting of the year consisting of ten races all for trotters.

Sunday’s programme included also four heats from the Johnnie Walker Cup Championship for class Gold trotters on a short distance of 2,140m. From these heats 20 horses made it to the semi-final stage.

Thirteen horses lined up for the class Premier races. As expected Antoine Du Bourg (Redent Magro) was the fastest horse at first and immediately opened a small lead from Dunbar (Cliferty Calleja) and Dandy De Godrel (Zairen Magri).

Antoine Du Bourg was unchallenged during the 2,640m distance and managed to take its impressive seventh win of the year from Aster Des Caillons (Charles Degiorgio) and Dandy De Godrel. Diablo d’Herfraie (Rodney Gatt) ended in fourth place. The winner clocked an average time of 1.15.3” per kilometre.

In the first class Gold heat, favourite Forjan (Redent Magro) changed its pace midway through the final straight and was eventually disqualified.

It was Diza Du Courtille (Ivan Stivala) which registered its first win in Malta from Triomphe Ferm (Kurt Saliba).

There was a keen duel in the final metres of the second class Gold heat between the early leader, Dynamit Life (Kerstin Galea) and Eurythmic Sisu (Kevin Sciberras). It was the former which obtained its third win of the year. 

In the third heat from the same championship, Carhu (Redent Magro) sealed its first win in Malta after taking the lead midway through the final straight.

Corky Ramirez (Paul Galea) gained its fifth win of the year after leading all the way in the fourth and last class Gold heat. Cessillac (Charles Degiorgio) followed home in second place.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Sunday. The first race should start at 1.30pm.

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Golden Noa (Josef Buttigieg) – 1.17.6”

Race 2. Class Copper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Festival Marlo (Rodney Gatt) – 1.18.1”

Race 3. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Gamin De Source (Paul Galea) – 1.17.1”

Race 4. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Falcon Du Hamel (Michael Attard) – 1.17.9”

Race 5. Johnnie Walker Cup heat. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Diza Du Courtille (Ivan Stivala) – 1.14.4”

Race 6. Johnnie Walker Cup heat. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Dynamit Life (Kerstin Galea) – 1.15.4”

Race 7. Johnnie Walker Cup heat. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Carhu (Redent Magro) – 1.15.3”

Race 8. Johnnie Walker Cup heat. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Corky Ramirez (Paul Galea) – 1.15.8”

Race 9. Class Premier. Dist – 2640m. 1. Antoine Du Bourg (Redent Magro) – 1.15.3”

Race 10. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m.  1. Waikiki Man (Mario Falzon) – 1.17.2”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing