Connect with us

Horse Racing

Second win for Baron De Majuag with the best time of the day

Alessandro Grech steers Baron De Majuag to victory in the Premier class race. Photo: Chris Sant Fournier

The 56th meeting of the year were held on Saturday afternoon at the Marsa racetrack.

Certainly the three most important races were reserved for class Premier trotters on a short distance of 2140m and which were won by Baron De Majuag, Infinite Knight and Domino De Larre.

In the first class Premier race, the early leader, Kaptah (Julian Farrugia) was outsmarted by Baron De Majuag (Alessandro Grech) midway through the final straight.

Daytona (Clint Vassallo) and Juvels Boy (Caillin Borg) ended respectively in third and fourth place. For Baron De Majuag this was its second win of the season in a good average time of 1.14.8” per kilometre.

There was a keen duel between Infinite Knight (Charles Degiorgio) and Diza Du Courtille (Ivan Stivala) in the final straight of the second class Premier race. It was the former which gained its second win of the year with Aros Line (Marvic Bugeja) and Victory Wind (Noel Baldacchino) following home in that order.

Similar was the third and last race from the same category. Here there was also a close finish between Domino De Larre (Noel Baldacchino), Surf’N Turf (Paul Galea) and Da Vinci Bond (Clint Vassallo). The win was awarded to Baldacchino’s trotter after that the photo-finish was consulted. Dino Du Riler (Marco Debono) also obtained a good place.  

Domino De Larre registered its second win in Malta in an average time of 1.15.7” per kilometer.

Another meeting will be held on Sunday. The first race should start at 1.15pm.

Saturday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 2140m. 1. Fee Europa (Tony Demanuele) – 1.18.8”

Race 2. Class Copper. Dist – 2140m. 1. Artiste d’Alice (Christopher Grech) – 1.18.7”

Race 3. Class Copper. Dist – 2140m. 1. Galeo Du Portugal (Kirsten Axisa) – 1.17.1”

Race 4. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Classic Gal (Jean Pierre Farrugia) – 1.17.1”

Race 5. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Secret Avenue (Rodney Gatt) – 1.16.5”

Race 6. Class Copper. Dist – 2140m. 1. Galys Du Patural (Charles Degiorgio) – 1.18.3”

Race 7. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Baron De Majuag (Alessandro Grech) – 1.14.8”

Race 8. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Infinite Knight (Charles Degiorgio) – 1.15.4”

Race 9. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Elios Noe (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.16.1”

Race 10. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Domino De Larre (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.15.7”

Race 11. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Carlos Du Garabin (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.17.6”

Race 12. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Asko Giant (Paul Galea) – 1.16.1”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing