Connect with us

Local motorsport

Increased participation at National Karting Championship

The first round of the National Karting Championship took place last weekend at the La Reve track in Ħal Far.

At the championship opening, one could notice that the number of competitors continued to grow over the previous season.

Saturday was dedicated to the classes reserved for the youngest drivers.

At the Entry Level, we saw Cody Darmanin placing first, followed by Solberg Galea and Kimi Bugeja.

In the Mini 60cc, Aryton Jon Tonna took first place, followed by Mason Barun and Dario Mifsud.

Zane Pace took the honours in the Rotax Mini, followed by Daniel Abela and Kimaya Mifsud.

The Iame Mini X30 was won by Ben Piscopo, followed by Morgan Tyler Zammit Azzopardi and Jamie Vassallo.

The last class of the day, the Iame X30 Junior, was won by Timothy Zarb, ahead of Kyle Micallef and Luca Tanti.

The adult drivers made their debut on Sunday.

The Iame X30 Masters class was won by Keith Micallef, followed by Kenneth Vella and Sandro Bugeja.

Eman Muscat topped the Rotax Max class, followed by Salvatore Toscano and Clayton Mizzi.

Iame X30 Senior was won by Kyle Mercieca, placing ahead of Nicky Gauci and Daniel Gauci.

Vortex RokGP Senior was won by Micah Scicluna, while Claude Brincat and Ryan Borg place second and third respectively.

The Vortex RokGP Masters class was won by Neville Zammit, followed by Glenn Vassallo and Norbert Valletta.

The Championship is being organized in cooperation between Karting Club Malta and Island Karting Club and managed by the Malta Motorsport Federation.

The second round is planned for the weekend of February 25 and 26 at the La Reve racetrack in Ħal Far.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Local motorsport