Connect with us

Horse Racing

Eadshot Josselyn triumphs in President’s Cup final

Rodney Gatt (centre) steers Eadshot Josselyn to victory in the President's Cup final. Photo: Matthew Mirabelli

Driven by Rodney Gatt, Eadshot Josselyn won Sunday’s most important race which was held at the Marsa Racetrack. This was the EquestriMalta President’s Cup final for class Premier trotters on a short distance of 2,140m.

This final formed part of the 52nd meeting of the season consisting of nine races all for trotters. Sunday’s card also included a normal class Premier race on a long distance of 2,640m.

Twelve trotters lined up in the class Premier final. Jefferson Dotcom (Ludvic Ghigo) was the fastest horse at first, opening a small lead from Sir Q.C. (Paul Galea) and Eadshot Josselyn (Rodney Gatt).

Midway through the distance it was Eadshot Josselyn which took the lead and managed to seal its fourth win in a row and in Malta after sustaining in the final straight the challenge of Djembe Du Pont (Jesmar Gafa’). Ellington Dream (Charles Camilleri) ended third from Sir Q.C and Dandy De Godrel (Julian Farrugia).

At the end of this final, the President of Malta George Vella presented the winning trophy to Shawn Farrugia and Rodney Gatt the owner and driver respectively of the winning horse.

It should be noted that this was Rodney Gatt’s fifth win of the President’s Cup in his career. The winning horse clocked an average time of 1.13.7” per kilometre.

In the normal class Premier race, Brage Hindo (Julian Farrugia) increased its speed on the outside during the last 500 metres and managed to pass the finishing post first.

President George Vella (centre) presents the trophy to the owner Shawn Farrugia and driver Rodney Gatt. Photo: Matthew Mirabelli

However, Farrugia’s trotter was eventually disqualified and the win was awarded to Charming Soldier (Paul Galea) which registered its sixth win of the year from Pablo Andover (Daniel Hili) and Aros Line (Marvic Bugeja). Catherine’s Chevy (Jesmar Gafa’) followed home in that order.

Llama Tooma (Jason Vassallo) sealed its second win in Malta in the first class Gold race after outsmarting Eurythmic Sisu (Kevin Sciberras) exactly on the finishing line, while in the second race from the same category Italian newcomer Akela Play (Clint Vassallo) led all the way.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Friday. The first race should start at 7pm.

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Greatandeasy C.C. (Joseph Cassar) – 1.20.5”

Race 2. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1. Attack Photo (Dylan Baldacchino) – 1.17.1”

Race 3. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. I.D. Dig Deeper (Carmelo Farrugia) – 1.17.2”

Race 4. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Llama Tooma (Jason Vassallo) – 1.16.3”

Race 5. Class Premier. Dist – 2640m. 1. Charming Soldier (Paul Galea) – 1.16.7”

Race 6. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m. 1.  Joyus (Paul Galea) – 1.17.9”

Race 7. EquestriMalta President’s Cup final. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Eadshot Josselyn (Rodney Gatt) – 1.13.7”

Race 8. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Edson Boko (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.18.4”

Race 9. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Akela Play (Clint Vassallo) – 1.16.1”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing