Connect with us

Horse Racing

Second win in a row for Defi Orageux in Assikura Championship final

Driven by Rodney Gatt, Defi Orageux won Sunday’s major event at the Marsa Racetrack. This was the Assikura Championship final for class Gold trotters on a short distance of 2140m. This final formed part of the 8th meeting of the season consisting of nine races all for trotters.

Twelve trotters lined up for the class Gold final. Dreams Happen (Jesmar Gafa’) was the fastest horse at first, opening a small lead from Flash De Celland (David Ellul) and Liam Dana (Jean Claude Pace).

However 300m from the finishing line, Dreams Happen started to slow down and was eventually overtaken by Defi Orageux (Rodney Gatt) which sealed its second win a row from Cruise (Paul Galea) and Classic d’Urzy (Noel Baldacchino). Elorn (Charles Camilleri) also obtained a good place.

The winner clocked an average time of 1.15” per kilometre.

At the end of this final, Lucienne Cini, on behalf of the sponsor, presented the winning trophy to Twanny and Rita Gerada and also to Rodney Gatt, the owners, and driver respectively of the winning horse.

Sunday’s card also included a normal class Premier race on a short distance of 2140m. Norwegian Thai Eros (Nathaniel Barbara) obtained its second win of the season after increasing its speed in the last 400 metres.

Nathaniel Barbara leads Thai Eros to victory in the Premier class race. Photo: Matthew Mirabelli

Barbara’s trotter triumphed easily by three lengths from Di Maggio (Andrew Farrugia) and Eros Du Fosse (Carmelo Farrugia). The early leader, Campione Mio (Marius Mizzi) had to settle for fourth place.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Saturday. The first race should start at 1.30pm.

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 2140m. 1. Artiste d’Alice (Chris Grech) – 1.16.8”

Race 2. Class Bronze. Dist – 2140m. 1. Mooney (Mark Mifsud) – 1.15.8”

Race 3. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Extra Mossa (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.13.2”

Race 4. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Mellby Drake (Jonathan Spiteri) – 1.15.8”

Race 5. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Thai Eros (Nathaniel Barbara) – 1.15.7”

Race 6. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Diego Du Coudou (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.15”

Race 7. Class Bronze. Dist – 2140m. 1. Hanouchka (Cherise Farrugia) – 1.15.2”

Race 8. Assikura Championship Final. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Defi Orageux (Rodney Gatt) – 1.15”

Race 9. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Iron De Ginai (Charles Degiorgio) – 1.15.5”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing