Connect with us

Horse Racing

Eldorado De Ver triumphs in President’s Cup final

The 56th meeting of the season, consisting of nine races all for trotters was held on Wednesday afternoon at the Marsa Racetrack.

The most important race was the EquestiMalta President’s Cup final reserved for class Premier trotters on a short distance of 2140m. This was won by French Eldorado de Ver driven by Noel Baldacchino.

Twelve trotters lined up for the class Premier final. As expected, favourite Marcello Wibb (Paul Galea) was the fastest horse at first, opening a small lead from Eldorado De Ver (Noel Baldacchino) and Cepage Des Ulmes (Clint Vassallo).

However, when the front horses turned for their final straight, Marcello Wibb started to slow down and was overtaken by Eldorado De Ver which sealed its sixth win of the season and its second in a row. Espoir d’Elphigny (Jesmar Gafa’) and Dreamer Boy (Julian Farrugia) ended respectively in third and fourth place.

At the end of this final, the President of Malta, Dr George Vella, presented the cup to Nathan Mifsud and Noel Baldacchino, owner and driver respectively of the winning horse in the presence of Sports Minister Clifton Grima.

Noel Baldacchino leads Eldorado De Ver to victory in the President’s Cup final. Photo: Jonathan Borg

The winner clocked an average time of 1.14.1” per kilometer.  

Rodney Gatt finished as the best driver of the day with four wins.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held next Sunday. The first race should start at 1.15pm.

Wednesday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 1640m. 1. Import (Sacha Cortis) – 1.18.7”

Race 2. Class Bronze. Dist – 1640m. 1. Forrest Beji (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.14.6”

Race 3. Class Bronze. Dist – 1640m. 1. Hendy d’Auberville (Rodney Gatt) – 1.15.7”

Race 4. Class Silver. Dist – 1640m. 1. Ecuador (Redent Magro) – 1.15.6”

Race 5. Class Gold. Dist – 1640m. 1. Defi Nay (Rodney Gatt) – 1.14.7”

Race 6. Class Copper. Dist – 1640m. 1. Gringo Marancourt (Rodney Gatt) – 1.17.3”

Race 7. EquestriMalta President’s Cup final. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Eldorado De Ver (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.14.1”

Race 8. Class Gold. Dist – 1640m. 1. Deede Star (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.14.4”

Race 9. Class Silver. Dist – 1640m. 1. Billie Holiday (Rodney Gatt) – 1.14”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing