Connect with us

Horse Racing

Global Undecided wins first edition of Assikura Speed Race at Marsa Racetrack

Driven by Cliferty Calleja, Swedish Global Undecided won the first edition of the Assikura Speed Race competition held on a very short distance of 640m metres.

This race formed part of the 57th meeting of the season consisting of nine races all for trotters. Sunday’s card included also a class Premier race on a mile distance.

Nine trotters took part in the Assikura Speed Race competition. These trotters were chosen according to the established terms and conditions and were grouped so that 3 heats were run consecutively with the winner from each heat taking part in the final race which was held a few minutes later in the afternoon.

This competition was over the 640m distance according to the speed race concept.

The first heat was won by Doosty driven by Noel Baldacchino. Global Undecided and Cliferty Calleja triumphed in the second one while in the third heat it was Surf’N Turf and Charles Camilleri which past the finishing post first.

The final was eventually contested by these three winners. Global Undecided (Cliferty Calleja) was unchallenged during the 640m metres and won easily by a length and a half from Doosty (Noel Baldacchino).

After this final, Andrew Grech, on behalf of the sponsors, presented the winning trophy to Josef Cassar, Ryan Dimech and Cliferty Calleja, owners and driver respectively of the winning horse.

In the only class Premier race on the card, favourite Crack Money (Paul Galea) led all the way and gained its ninth win in a row and its tenth in Malta by two lengths from Caid Sly (Ludvic Ghigo) and Caucasien (Rodney Gatt). Caprice De Cosse (Mario Fenech) followed home in that order.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Boxing Day, December 26. The first race should start at 1.15pm.

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Bronze. Dist – 1640m. 1. Good Buzz (Kerstin Galea) – 1.15.7”

Race 2. Class Bronze. Dist – 1640m. 1. Girondin (Christian Xerri) – 1.17.3”

Race 3. Class Silver. Dist – 1640m. 1. Daraghiu Jeep (Anton Cassar) – 1.15.4”

Race 4. Class Silver. Dist – 1640m. 1. Ex Aequo De Cosse (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.15”

Race 5. Class Gold. Dist – 1640m. 1. Felicio Du Joamax (Jason Zahra) – 1.13.9”

Race 6. Class Silver. Dist – 1640m. 1. Good Job (Joseph Bartolo) – 1.14.7”

Race 7. Assikura Speed Race Final. Class Open. Dist – 640m. 1. Global Undecided (Cliferty Calleja) – 1.07.7”

Race 8. Class Premier. Dist – 1640m. 1. Crack Money (Paul Galea) – 1.13.3”

Race 9. Class Gold. Dist – 1640m. 1. First Love M.L. (Rodney Gatt) – 1.15.6”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Horse Racing