Connect with us

Local motorsport

Watch: Mark Micallef comes out on top in opening round of National Hillclimb Championship

The Island Car Club organised the first round of the 2024 National Hillclimb Championship at Mtaħleb last weekend.

From early in the day, one could notice that Mark Micallef, in his Norma M20 Mugen, had a great start to the new championship ahead of him.

Micallef climbed the hill in 59.004 seconds and was closely followed by Jean Vella in his Jedi F1000 at 59.135 seconds and Noel Galea in his Ford Escort Mk2 at 59.300 seconds.

Noel Galea won the rear-wheel-drive category, as Didier Bugeja topped the front-wheel-drive category with his Peugeot 106.

Video: Malta Motorsport Federation

 In his Subaru Impreza, Josef Calleja placed first in the four-wheel-drive category, and Isaac Burlò was the fastest in the classic car category with his Mini Cooper.

In her BMW 1 series, Martina Caruana was the fastest woman driver, whilst David Grech was the quickest veteran over 60 in his competitive Ford Escort Mk 2.

Sacha Blanco won the streetcar category with his Honda-powered Toyota MRS, whilst Calvin-Lee Mifsud was the fastest under 25 driver at the wheel of his Honda Civic.

Hence, the overall winner of the first round of the championship is Mark Micallef, followed by Jean Vella and Noel Galea.

Josef Abela was Clerk of the Course, Jeremy Cassar was Deputy CoC, Susanne Fenech was Secretary of the Meeting, George Muscat was Steward, and Joe Formosa Timekeeper.

The event was held with the support of Enemed, MeDirect Bank Malta, England Insurance, The Point Malta and other sponsors.

The next round is scheduled for April 14, with the venue yet to be announced.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World Cup News


More in Local motorsport